DEMOCRATIC SPECIAL CONVENTION August 24, 2024 Liberty High Auditorium Convention Minutes

1. Call to order by Ed Cranston (Temporary Co-Chair) occurred at 9:00 am.

Shortly after the convention was called to order, Tom Larkin of the Credentials Committee announced that a quorum had been achieved and that the Credentials Committee was ready to seat Alternates.

2. Appointment of Temporary Officers

The following were appointed as temporary officers:

- Chairs Rachel Zimmerman Smith & Ed Cranston
- Parliamentarian(s) Tom Larkin
- Secretary Gerene Denning
- Timekeeper Brian Jackson
- Sergeant-at-Arms Brad Kunkel

3. Temporary Rules Report

The report was submitted by Lisa Williams, Chair of the Rules & Nominations Committee.

A motion to adopt the Temporary Rules Report was made and seconded.

Motion passed by voice vote.

While waiting for the Credentials Committee Report, several speakers addressed convention delegates:

- Sarah Prineas on behalf of the Bohannan campaign.
- Ed Cranston on behalf of candidates in Iowa legislative districts that included precincts in Johnson County who were currently represented by Republicans Anna Banowsky, Iowa House District 92; Ed Chabal, Iowa Senate District 46; Jay Gorsh, Iowa House District 91.
- Newman Abuissa
- Royceanne Porter, Johnson County Board of Supervisors
- Adam Zabner, Iowa House District 90
- Janet Weiner, Iowa Senate District 45
- Bruce Teague, Mayor of Iowa City

4. Adoption of the Credentials Report

Tom Larkin presented the Credentials Committee Report at 9:27 am.

A motion to approve the report was put forward by Tom Larkin and seconded by Tom Carsner.

The report was approved by voice vote. At that time, there were 112 seated delegates.

At a later time (9:35 am), Tom Larkin announced that a delegate had arrived after the deadline. A seated delegate noted that seating the person would require a motion to suspend the rules.

The motion to suspend the rules and seat the person was put forward by Adam Zabner and seconded by Tom Carsner. The motion passed by voice vote.

Final number of delegates was 113.

5. Adoption of the Rules Report

A motion to adopt the Rules Report was put forward by Lisa Williams (Rules & Nominations Committee Chair) and seconded by Brian Jackson. The motion passed by voice vote.

6. Nomination of the Democratic Candidate for Johnson County Auditor Special Election

Rachel Zimmerman Smith (Convention Co-Chair) read the Iowa Democratic Party's Statement on

diversity and inclusion.

Nominator: Sylvia Castaneda
Nominee: Shannon Patrick
Nominator: Brad Kunkel
Nominee: Julie Persons
Nominator: Jon Green
Nominator: Maher Josephson
Nominee: Newman Abuissa

7. Question and Answer Period with Nominees

The Q&A was moderated by Rachel Zimmerman Smith (Convention Co-Chair). Questions were on cards submitted by the delegates.

To ensure fairness, the first candidate to answer a question was rotated based on seating order. Seating order:

Newman Abuissa

Shannon Patrick

Alex Stanton

Julie Persons

At the end of the allotted 60-minute period, a motion was put forward and seconded to suspend the rules and extend the Q&A session by 30 minutes to allow for additional submitted questions. The motion failed by standing count.

8. Election of the Nominee for Johnson County Auditor Special Election

Delegates cast written ballots until a candidate reached a majority of votes (57 votes).

Julie Persons received the majority of votes on the first ballot to become the Democratic candidate for Johnson County Auditor.

Results:

Newman Abuissa – 4 votes Shannon Patrick – 21 votes Alex Stanton – 26 votes

Julie Persons – 60 votes

9. Ratify the election

A motion to ratify the election was made and seconded.

Motion passed by voice vote

10. Adjourn

A motion to adjourn was made and seconded.

Motion passed by voice vote at 11:05 am.

Respectfully submitted by Gerene Denning, Special Convention Secretary